GFSI Standards

Allan Hill



GFSI has recognized a number of food safety management schemes that fulfill the criteria of the GFSI Guidance Document. The GFSI Guidance Document is regularly revised by GFSI to reflect improvements in best practices. GFSI is not a scheme in itself and does not carry out any accreditation or certification activities. The status of recognition is achieved through a comprehensive benchmarking process. Once a standard has gained formal recognition to a standard by the GFSI Board of Directors, this standard is deemed to meet all of the requirements in the Guidance Document. Certification according to a GFSI recognized scheme can be achieved through a successful third party audit against any of the following schemes approved by the GFSI:

BRC Global Standard for Food Safety (six Edition) BRC Global Standard for Food Safety (six Edition)
CanadaGAP (Canadian Horticultural Council On-Farm Food Safety Program) CanadaGAP (Canadian Horticultural Council On-Farm Food Safety Program)
FSSC 22000 Food Products FSSC 22000 Food Products
Global Aquaculture Alliance Seafood Processing Standard Global Aquaculture Alliance Seafood Processing Standard
Global Red Meat Standard (GRMS) Global Red Meat Standard (GRMS)
IFS Food Version 5 IFS Food Version 5
PrimusGFS PrimusGFS
Safe Quality Food Safe Quality Food

Welcome to BRC

The BRC Global Standards are a leading global safety and quality certification programme, used throughout the world by over 17,000 certificated suppliers in 90 countries through a network of over 80 accredited and BRC recognised Certification Bodies. The BRC Global Standards are widely used by suppliers and global retailers. They facilitate standardization of quality, safety, operational criteria and manufacturers’ fulfillment of legal obligations. They also help provide protection to the consumer.

Welcome to CanadaGAP

CanadaGAP (Good Agricultural Practices) is the name of the Canadian Horticultural Council’s (CHC) On-Farm Food Safety (OFFS) Program. The program consists of national food safety standards and a certification system for the safe production, storage and packing of fresh fruits and vegetables.

The Safe Quality Foods Program (SQF) is recognized by retailers and food service providers around the world that require a rigorous, credible food safety management system. It was launched in Australia in 1994. Since 2004, it has been administered by the SQF Institute, a division of the Food Marketing Institute, headquartered in Arlington, Virginia. Thousands of companies in North and South America, Europe, the Middle East, and in Asia have received SQF certification.

Welcome to FSSC 22000

The Foundation for Food Safety Certification was founded in 2004. The Foundation developed FSSC 22000, the ISO 22000 and PAS 220 based certification scheme for certification of food manufacturers. This development is supported by FoodDrinkEurope. The scheme is recognised by the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI).

Welcome to The Global Aquaculture Alliance

is an international, non-profit trade association dedicated to advancing environmentally and socially responsible aquaculture. GAA recognizes that aquaculture is the only sustainable means of increasing seafood supply to meet the food needs of the world’s growing population.

Through the development of its Best Aquaculture Practices certification standards, GAA has become the leading standards-setting organization for aquaculture seafood

Welcome to GLOBALG.A.P

The GLOBALG.A.P. standard is primarily designed to reassure consumers about how food is produced on the farm by minimising detrimental environmental impacts of farming operations, reducing the use of chemical inputs and ensuring a responsible approach to worker health and safety as well as animal welfare

Welcome to The Global Red Meat Standard

GRMS – the customised standard for the beef and pork industry.
The Global Red Meat Standard, GRMS, is a scheme specifically developed for the meat industry. Its cornerstone is product safety, focusing on critical areas affecting the maintenance of high meat safety requirements. GRMS is EN45011 accredited and independently audited

Welcome to IFS

IFS Food is a GFSI recognised standard for auditing food safety and quality of processes and products of food manufacturers. It concerns food processing companies or companies that pack loose food products.

IFS Food applies when products are “processed” or when there is a hazard for product contamination during primary packing. The IFS Food Standard is important for all food manufacturers, especially those producing private labels, because it contains many requirements related to specifications’ compliance. It supports production and marketing efforts for brand safety and quality.

IFS Food standard version 6 has been developed with full and active involvement.

Welcome to PrimusGFS:

PrimusGFS is a private scheme that establishes requirements for the certification of products of the Agricultural sector in a voluntary manner at a world-wide level.

Press Release

PrimusGFS v1.6 Update June 12,2012
PrimusGFS v1.6, Food Safety Management System (FSMS) Module 1 Draft Guidelines, v1 June 2012
PrimusGFS Successfully Benchmarked against GFSI
GFSI: PrimusGFS meets with recognition from GFSI

Welcome to SQF

SQF is recognized by retailers and foodservice providers around the world who require a rigorous, credible food safety management system. Using the SQF certification program will help reduce assessment inconsistencies and costs of multiple assessment standards. What’s more, the SQF Program is recognized by the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) and links primary production certification to food manufacturing, distribution and agent/broker management certification. Administered by the Food Marketing Institute (FMI), SQF benefits from continual retailer feedback about consumer concerns. These benefits are passed on to SQF certified suppliers, keeping them a step ahead of their competitors.